State Standards

Our state standards tools help members stay on top of evolving state and local compliance requirements. 

Paid Family Leave

The federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) entitles an eligible employee to take up to 12 workweeks of unpaid leave during a 12-month period for a number of qualifying reasons, including his or her own serious illness, to care for a family member that is ill, or to care for a newborn or adopted child. In the absence of any federal paid leave mandate, several states have stepped in to fill the void by enacting legislation that requires employers to provide employees with paid family and/or sick leave for the employee’s own illness or to care for a family member. In CWC’s State Paid Family Leave tool, members can find which states mandate paid family leave as well any specific requirements such as the amount of leave, permissible reasons for taking leave, and how benefits are to be paid.

Download State Standard

State Standards
Interactive Map

Access our interactive map to identify state and local compliance requirements by jurisdiction or issue.

State Standards Resources

Download helpful summaries and explanations of pressing state and local workplace compliance issues.

State Standards Network

Engage with fellow members on state and local issues through our dedicated online Connect community.