State Standards

Our state standards tools help members stay on top of evolving state and local compliance requirements. 

Anti-Discrimination Protected Classes

There are a variety of federal laws that protect employees from discrimination based on an individual's membership in a protected class. For example, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act prohibits employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, and national origin, while the Age Discrimination in Employment Act prohibits age discrimination. States have their own versions of these laws, often protecting additional classes from employment discrimination. CWC's State Anti-Discrimination Protected Categories resource enables members to see what categories are provided state level protection from employment discrimination in addition to being able to quickly review a specific state's human right's statute.

Download State Standard

State Standards
Interactive Map

Access our interactive map to identify state and local compliance requirements by jurisdiction or issue.

State Standards Resources

Download helpful summaries and explanations of pressing state and local workplace compliance issues.

State Standards Network

Engage with fellow members on state and local issues through our dedicated online Connect community.