State Standards

Our state standards tools help members stay on top of evolving state and local compliance requirements. 

Unpaid Family and Medical Leave

The federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) entitles an eligible employee to take up to 12 workweeks of unpaid leave during a 12-month period for a number of qualifying reasons, including his or her own serious illness, to care for a family member that is ill, or to care for a newborn or adopted child. Many states have enacted legislation that expands unpaid leave entitlements under state law to a longer period than provided for under FMLA or expands FMLA definitions to cover more family member categories. CWC’s State Unpaid Family and Medical Leave tool summarizes these expansions in an easy-to-reference format and provides links to the applicable state statutes should members need a deeper dive.

Download State Standard

State Standards
Interactive Map

Access our interactive map to identify state and local compliance requirements by jurisdiction or issue.

State Standards Resources

Download helpful summaries and explanations of pressing state and local workplace compliance issues.

State Standards Network

Engage with fellow members on state and local issues through our dedicated online Connect community.